PGR Nominating Committee Report, November 19, 2022

The full Nominating Committee (NC) met via Zoom October 5, 2022 and October 20, 2022. The co-chairs met in-person September 6, 2022 at First Presbyterian Church, Jacksonville. Thank you to the church for hosting us. The committee and co-chairs also communicated regularly via email, phone, and text as we completed the work before us. Given that our co-chairs did not begin their term until August 31, 2022 the entirety of our work consisted of finding current contact information, compiling a current roster of our committees, and calling to fill all the openings.

Thank you to all the committee chairs who helped provide recommendations and information about your committee's work. Thank you to all the presbytery staff for their help in locating information, and sharing the news of our committee. Thank you to everyone who replied to our messages, returned our calls, and offered prayers for us. A special thank you to Stated Clerk Rev. Elissa Bailey who helped us track down information and answered many questions.

Given the work we needed to complete there are a few items that have been paused until after this meeting, those are:

- Electing a delegate to Illinois Council of Churches. We received word that this entity is in the process of reorganizing so we will await to hear from them when it is time to elect a new delegate. This includes also a representative on the ICC Encountering Racism Team.
- Electing a new person to our presbytery CARE. This committee is in the beginning stages of their work and thanks to the help of GAP Presbyter Rev. John Rickard will begin working soon.
- Electing delegates to the Illinois Presbyterian Home. They are not in need of new representatives this year.

It is the NC's practice to make sure all chairs are current members of the committee for the purpose of continuity. Each committee chooses from their membership a vice chair and when the current chair's term ends the vice chair is the first approached to serve as the incoming chair. If the vice chair is unable to serve the current chair makes recommendations of other members to invite. It is the NC's hope to have balance in gender and ruling/teaching elder among each committee, however there are years when this is not possible. We want to assure the Assembly we have been working diligently in the area of representation in the presbytery's leadership and will continue to do so.

Thank you to all those who have volunteered to serve.

[The rest of this page is intentionally left blank.]

MOTION #1. After eight weeks of work the Nominating Committee was able to fill all but twenty of the forty-two openings. The NC **moves** that the following slate be elected for terms as listed:

Administration Team (7 openings, 4 remain open)

- 1. 2023 RE Matt Losey, Woodhull
- 2. 2023 TE **OPEN**
- 3. 2024 TE **OPEN**
- 4. 2025 RE Dave Monninger, Macomb
- 5. 2025 RE Pam Moore, Kirkwood
- 6. 2025 TE **OPEN**
- 2025 TE OPEN

COM (14 openings with chair, 9 remain open)

- 1. 2023 RE **OPEN**
- 2. 2023 RE **OPEN**
- 3. 2023 RE **OPEN**
- 4. 2023 TE Rene Whitaker, First Macomb
- 5. 2024 RE **OPEN**
- 6. 2024 RE **OPEN**
- 7. 2025 RE Julie Bruninga, Jacksonville
- 8. 2025 RE **OPEN**
- 9. 2025 RE **OPEN**
- 10. 2025 RE **OPEN**
- 11. 2025 TE John Napoli, Washington
- 12. 2025 TE Kay Daniels, Galesburg
- 13. 2025 TE Laura Reason (chair), Honorably Retired elected to CHAIR
- 14. 2025 TE **OPEN**

CPM (4 openings and correction of two terms, 1 remains open)

- 1. Corrected to Class of 2024 TE Rick Tindall
- 2. Corrected to Class of 2024 TE Maura McGrath Nagle (chair) elected to CHAIR
- 3. 2024 RE Jim Strickland, Woodhull
- 4. 2025 RE John Turnbull, ?
- 5. 2025 RE Wayne Wrage, Yates City
- 6. 2025 TE **OPEN**

Moderator-Elect - OPEN

Personnel Committee (1 opening and correction of one term, 1 remains open)

- 1. 2025 TE **OPEN**
- 2. Corrected to class of 2023 RE Mike Orr

PJC (4 openings)

- 1. 2023 TE Lonna Lee, member-at-large
- 2. 2026 RE Alan Willadsen, Westminster Peoria
- 3. 2026 RE Sheryl Essenburg, Hope Springfield
- 4. 2028 TE Mark Merrill, Bushnell

Synod Commissioner (2 openings)

- 1. 2024 RE Sue Sawers, Springfield
- 2. 2025 RE Penny Frame, Lewistown

Treasurer (1 opening)

1. Bill Strawbridge

Visioning Team (8 openings, 2 remain open)

- 1. 2024 RE Lee Trotter, Canton
- 2. 2024 RE Lorna Blackford, Faith United Monmouth
- 3. 2024 TE **OPEN**
- 4. 2024 TE **OPEN**
- 5. 2025 RE Cassie Mayer, Woodhull (student at Illinois College)
- 6. 2025 RE Bob Montgomery, Eureka
- 7. 2025 TE Pastor Ryu, New Windsor
- 8. 2025 TE Chuck Goodman, Springfield Hope

MOTION #2. A major task of our committee was to nominate a slate for the search committee for our next Lead Presbyter. Co-Chair Gary Terpstra handled the calling of those the NC agreed would make a good team. The NC **moves** that the following slate be elected for service on the Lead Presbytery Search Committee (LPNC).

- 1. RE Julio Garcia, Milan
- 2. RE Marilyn Simmons, Biggsville
- 3. RE Penny Frame, Lewistown
- 4. RE Nate Rush, Carlinville
- 5. TE Maura McGrath Nagle, Rio & Sunbeam, Aledo
- 6. TE Adam Quine, Lincoln
- 7. TE Charles Walden, Ipava & Scotland Trinity, Monmouth
- 8. TE Kathy Mitchell, Honorably Retired

Leadership Team Information

The Leadership Team is made up of the chairs of committees and the presbytery leadership. If all are elected as nominated (as applicable), the following individuals will make up the Leadership Team in 2023:

- Moderator TE Katie Styrt
- Moderator-Elect RE
- Past Moderator TE Chuck Goodman
- Stated Clerk TE Elissa Bailey
- Treasurer RE Bill Strawbridge
- o GAP Presbyter TE John Rickard
- Commissioned Pastor Coordinator TE Cheyanna Losey
- o Admin Chair RE Julio Garcia
- o COM Chair TE Laura Reason
- o CPM Chair TE Maura McGrath Nagle
- Nominating Chair RE Gary Terpstra & TE Cheyanna Losey
- o Personnel Chair TE Joyce Chamberlin
- Visioning Chair TE Jessica Hawkinson Dorow

Thank you to all those who have served on the committees for however long your term has been. We greatly appreciate your work. The following individuals are completing their terms this December:

- CARE RE Julio Garcia
- COM TE Joanne Hinds, TE Kathy Mitchell
- Nominating Committee TE Mark Merrill, RE Marcia Duncan, RE Julio Garcia
- Past Moderator serving on Leadership Team RE Diane Ludington
- Visioning RE Lance Slavish, RE Katherine Gillespie

The NC now has a standard email address that will be passed on to each new chair nominating@greatriverspby.org.

In Christ's Service,

The Nominating Committee

Co-Chair RE Gary Terpstra g.terpstra@comcast.net

Co-Chair TE Cheyanna Losey cheyannalosey@gmail.com

RE Gary Davis

RE Marcia Duncan

RE Julio Garcia

RE Larry Lawson

TE Mark Merrill